Skip navigation

Looking back on second year there was so much of a difference between it and the first year. When second year started we were fresh off the London riots, Harry potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2 was just released, and Psy was about one year away from exploding into our lives with Gangnam style…. literally.

Gangnam-Style

I felt a little less alone because I already had gotten used to being independent through first year. I also have Annabelle to thank for it. Having a small piece from home made Uni life a little more bearable. I still was trying to find myself during the course of second year. I felt a little more comfortable with my new surroundings, but still felt like I didn’t belong there. It was all very confusing to think about. To talk about second year in a nut shell, would be for me to say that I kind of kept to myself a bit. I made friends on my course and they were all very nice people. Some I’m still friends with today. I just couldn’t find my place in this new life. It’s really upsetting thinking about it now, because I see now that not how I should have acted or felt. Second year did feel a little shorter than first, but it was still filled some weird and funny laughs.

I’m trying very hard to think of highlights which don’t concern Annabelle, my house mate, but I can’t. Too many fun times in this house, we live in right now, made second year a good time. Let’s start with the random surprise visitor we got at the beginning of the year. There I was a trying to settle in our new home. I had left the door open in the kitchen because we had a strange heat wave during that September. I went into the living room to sit and watch T.V. and at the corner of my eye I spotted something ginger dashing by and entering the corridor… I went to see what the hell it was and it turned out to be a ginger cat just letting itself in wondering the house. I had to call Annabelle out of her room to see because I was stunned that a cat just wondered into my room. I’ll give the cat credit, you fearless mofo. I’m used to cats just getting timid and running for the hills, but this cat just walked in like a boss, probably saying to itself “yeah?? and??” Annabelle feed it ham and it went on its way. We saw that cat a few times more when we opened the back door. Giving us the eyes for more food. Fearless mofo ginger cat.

ginger cat meme

Another fun surprise was Annabelle coming home on her nights out. Especially the ones which I was awake for. One in particular I had filmed so she knew exactly what she did the next morning mwahahaha. Aren’t I a good friend? I still have that video on Facebook entitled “Annabelle + booze = this “. The footage consisted of her telling me how awesome her night was and how she couldn’t get into lollipop. She said that several times. I made her eat bread to sober her up but it didn’t work. She ended up slapping herself in the face because she said her face was numb. Ahhh Annabelle. You strange soul.

Drunk-MEME

At the end of the year we had our friends, Toni and Hayden, come and pay us a visit. The few days they were here was eventful. We finally got to go on the Bournemouth hot air balloon in the town square. Not going to lie, heights aren’t my thing. Neither was Toni’s. I tried to get out of it by allowing the almighty coin app on Annabelle’s phone to decide my fate. It didn’t work. Little did I know however I would enjoy it. It was an amazing experience being lifted to that height and seeing Bournemouth from above.

balloon

We also headed to the beach for a little handsome BBQ. It started off as a fail. It took me and my friend Hayden like 20 mins to get a fire started because the gust of winds which kept blowing out the matches. Toni and me also thought that it would be a great idea to touch the sand where the BBQ’s was placed. Not a good idea. We burnt ourselves. All in all it was a good and chilled outing, which is how I would describe my second year to a certain extent.

bournemouth beach

Second year came to a quick end just like first year. It was a little less stressful emotionally, however trying to get the right grade to get into the third year made up for that. I can’t really say I learnt a lot because to be fair I didn’t. By the end I was still keeping to myself and still trying to be comfortable with being a student in a relatively new environment. You would of thought by now I would of become comfortable, but truthfully I wasn’t. I don’t know what it was. I can’t even tell you now, I feel silly that I didn’t enjoy it as much as I should have. The year wasn’t a disappointment, because I gave it no expectation. I just didn’t feel like I fitted in anywhere. Weird… However there was no denying on how fast second year went by. It seriously went by with extreme speed. What I took away from it was that I’ am a really shy person, and I’ am uncomfortable with change, I really am… If you have read this post up to now and the one before it, don’t feel too sorry for me, because third year changed my entire out look on university life. It really has been the bees knees…

Leave a Reply

